The organisers of the 48-Hour Tasploitation Challenge are delighted to announced the winning films (as chosen by the jury on the night and an audience vote).

Winning team of the Jury Award. Image by Lucy Parakhin, Tasploitation Challenge 2016

Twenty-seven short films screened at City Hall to an appreciative audience of about 300 people. The event, which began in 2013, has grown in size every year, with a record number of teams this year. Participants came from Hobart and around Tasmania, and at least five teams included interstate collaborators.

“The event had a huge amount of support this year and all 27 teams completed a film,” says organiser Briony Kidd. “For me, it’s exciting to be able to showcase the richness of creative talent we have in Tasmania, while giving the filmmakers a chance to experiment and try something new unexpected.”

The winners are:

Jury Award for Best Film – The Things We Take by The Dying Arts

Audience Choice Award – The Thin White Duke by The Hobart Hemoglobins

Cooper Screen Academy Best Actor Award – Simone Dobber in 271 by Schwein

Special Award (Best Score)Matthew Taylor for Featherhead by Special Patrol Group 

Tasmaniana Award  (for a film that incorporates a specifically Tasmanian aspect in the most original or interesting way) – Takayna by Carcinorganic 

Barbara Creed Award (for a film that reflects on gender issues in a thoughtful or clever way) – Bereft directed by Nigel Curtain-Smith

Next Generation Award (for an outstanding film made by a team which includes an under 16 year old filmmaker working in a key role) – Canine directed by Cathy Allen and written & produced by Cathy Allen and Aaron Luke Wilson, starring 11-year-old Jessica Lloyd

This year’s Tasploitation Challenge took place from 22 to 24 January. Teams were given three prompts: a subgenre of horror, a prop and a line of dialogue (this year it had to be a lyric from a David Bowie song). The Tasploitation Challenge Jury was:

  • award-winning filmmaker and renowned “Ozploitation” aficionado Mark Hartley (Not Quite Hollywood, Electric Boogaloo, Patrick)
  • award-winning genre filmmaker Sean Byrne (The Loved Ones, The Devil’s Candy), a Tasmanian who has recently released his second feature film to acclaim on the festival circuit
  • writer, publisher and international genre festival programmer Kier-La Janisse (House of Psychotic Women)
  • filmmaker Fiona McConaghy, whose recent credits include producing the webseries Noirhouse and as line producer on the upcoming Foxtel drama series The Kettering Incident
  • “Tasmanian Gothic” painter Elizabeth Barsham

The Grand Prize Winner will now be chosen by special international judge Julie Corman from between the Jury Award Winner and the Audience Choice Winner. The Grand Prize winner will receive $1000 in cash and their film will be screened at the Stranger With My Face International Film Festival in April 2016. This will be announced soon.

The 48 Hour Tasploitation Challenge is supported by the Tasmanian Government through Screen Tasmania.


Trophies for the Tasploitation Challenge 2016, designed by Bryony Geeves. Image by Lucy Parakhina.